Mindful Parenting

Just another WordPress.com site

Sausage-Veggie Breakfast Casserole December 6, 2012

Filed under: GAPS,Recipes — Lauren @ 8:22 am

Inspired by: Nourished and Nurtured


 

 

Breakfast has been a big adjustment for us on the GAPS diet because we use to eat easier go-to foods that I had made earlier in the week like homemade granola and raw milk, homemade yogurt with nuts and berries or a baked oatmeal dish. Not being a morning person, this was great for me….i’m not exactly thrilled to start cooking at 7:00am.


But things have changed, and I am being stretched. Not a bad thing necessarily.

 

This is a dish I adapted from Nourished and Nurtured, one of my absolute favorite sites (her recipes ALWAYS taste good!) We are eating about 4 dozen eggs a week, so this recipe is great because it really makes our eggs stretch farther. It serves at the very least 2 breakfast meals for my whole family, and probably more like 3. This is GREAT for my whole not-wanting-to-cook-in-morning issue. I love getting veggies in right from the start of the day too.

 

I cooked up this sausage a couple days ago to use half of it in one of our new favorite recipes, sausage balls. I love being able to use meat I’ve prepared for two meals- that is SUCH a bonus to me!! This is where meal planning really does come in handy. I do a relaxed meal-planning, which is huge progress for me, as I’ve adamantly resisted meal planning for 5 years now!

 

This recipe is very tasty, and because it’s so chocked full of goodness, it keeps you nice and full.

 

 

 

12 pastured eggs

½ c Parmesan/Romano cheese

2 zucchini –sliced thinly in rounds

1 C loosely packed fresh spinach- ripped smaller

½ C yogurt/kefir

½ lb of cooked ground sausage (OR sausage links, bacon or any ground meat), seasoned as desired

1 t. sea salt

Freshly ground black pepper

 

 

  1. Grease 9X13 baking dish with butter/coconut oil. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Cover with sliced zucchini rounds.
  3. Mix eggs, cheese, yogurt, and S&P until frothy.
  4. Fold in spinach and meat.
  5. Pour over zucchini in pan.
  6. Sprinkle with oregano and parmesan cheese.
  7. Cook for 30-40 minutes until set.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

