Mindful Parenting

Just another WordPress.com site

Applesauce Parfait December 3, 2012

Filed under: GAPS,Recipes — Lauren @ 7:46 am

 

I am a SWEET TOOTH. Historically. Presently. I LOVE sweet things. Savory can wait all day long, as long as I can have sweet. I actually was called an Italian slang name for “sweet tooth” growing up by my extended family!

One of my biggest hesitations with going on the GAPS diet (grain-free, lactose free, sugar free) was breaking my sugar addiction…and my habit for always needing something sugary.

I have honestly been pleasantly surprised. I can actually say that I am being fully satisfied by natural sugars. Honey and dried fruit are the only things we use to sweeten foods, and I am so enjoying finding creative ways to make yummy treats! Here is one of my ideas:

 

  1. Make an applesauce recipe. I use this one.
  2. Drizzle hot/cold applesauce with coconut milk
  3. Top with nuts, raisins and coconut shreds (or coconut granola)

Here you have yourself an applesauce parfait! Kids and adults are sure to love it.

 

Leave a Reply

