Mindful Parenting

Just another WordPress.com site

“But my pediatrician is SUCH a nice guy!” November 1, 2010

Filed under: Vaccination — Lauren @ 1:15 pm

Listen in on this decision-making process, overheard in the brains of so many parents:

1) I have an important decision to make about the health of my child/children and vaccines

2) I have very little/no information about the pros and cons of this decision, and I know very little about vaccines

3) I will make these decisions based on the recommendation of my pediatrician, who happens to be a “nice guy”…

4) Although I do not know my pediatrician from Adam, he is credentialed! His demeanor is so calm, and he is so confident with all his advice! He’s just so nice!

5) I have reservations about vaccines, about the amount of vaccines my children are “supposed” to receive, about the ingredients in the vaccines- but I’m no expert. My doctors’ opinion and American Academy of Pediatrics expertise are more trustworthy than my own parental instincts. They would never recommend anything detrimental to my child’s health.

6) Certainly the governmental agencies and the media would be more forthcoming if vaccines really could cause damage.   And anyways, if my child is injured by a vaccine my doctor will take responsibility for the injury and all that it entails financially. I would be vindicated if anything were to go wrong- my child would be taken care of.

7) I am confused, I feel pressured, and I am too busy to spend the time necessary to research these issues- I have no other choice but to defer to my doctor and AAP.


Let’s quickly respond to each point of this decision making process:

1) I have an important decision to make about the health of my child/children and vaccines.

You are the one making the decision- the responsibility it yours alone! Decide with all wisdom and prudence available to you!

2) I have very little/no information about the pros and cons of this decision, and I know very little about vaccines.

Find the information- research, research! Nothing is more important than being informed and confident- at the end of the day, you alone are responsible.

3) I will make these decisions based on the recommendation of my pediatrician, who happens to be a “nice guy”…

Your pediatrician may be nice, but also, and perhaps consequently, happens to be employed by a profit-industry, endowed by pharmaceutical companies, and fully protected against any liability from his recommendations by the United States federal government.

4) Although I do not know my pediatrician from Adam, he is credentialed! His demeanor is so calm, and he is so confident with all his advice! He’s just so nice!

Have you had dinner with your doctor? Shared a cup of coffee with him at Starbucks? Is he your trusted friend?  Are you basing your judgment of him as being friendly on the fact that he seems nice towards you at visits? Because most business people seem “nice” to their customers, and intentionally or not, might not have their customers best interest in mind. Remember your doctor is a businessman. He makes money. He likes money. (Like the rest of us.) His job is for-profit, not a charity service. How lucrative would his profession be if he weren’t seeing your children every month to administer vaccines?

5) I’m no expert. My doctors’ opinion and American Academy of Pediatrics expertise are more trustworthy than my own parental instincts.

Listen to your instincts. Follow your hunches. Ask questions. Prod. Push. Investigate. Inquire. This is about the health and well being of your babies! There isn’t any room for mistakes or ignorance.

6) I would be vindicated if anything were to go wrong- my child would be taken care of.

Doctors are NOT held liable for any of their patient’s vaccine reactions, nor are pharmaceutical companies. That is why you are legally required to sign CONSENT for every vaccination you CHOOSE for your child. What type of motivation do the companies who are making these vaccines have if they are PROTECTED from any and all liability? (National Childhood Vaccine Injury Compensation Program (NCVICP) And what type of motivation do pediatricians have if they know they are released from responsibility when it comes to a child having an adverse reactions to vaccines?

7) I am confused, I feel pressured, and I am too busy to spend the time necessary to research these issues- I have no other choice but to defer to my doctor and AAP.

Learn from other parents who have vaccine-injured children and who were once naïve towards vaccines. Make time for vaccine research. Don’t defer.  Don’t settle. You make the choices. You do have resources. You are smart enough. You are able- but you must be willing!

 

One Response to ““But my pediatrician is SUCH a nice guy!””

  1. Lisa Says:

    Hi Lauren:
    I agree with virtually everything you post and love reading your bright blog ( I mean that both literally and figuratively) Although I have come to embrace God’s timing and His plan and know that I am so blessed to know all of my family now, sometimes I think it is a shame, this hand life has dealt me – I see so much of myself in you as I am getting to know more of you…you know, especially as I was as a new Mother – 10 years ago.

    *) I had a severe reaction to an MMR (measles, mumps, rubella) vaccine given to me in the early 70s as advised by the pediatrician to a very young teen-aged Mother. I had convulsions and seizures. Thankfully was caught by my Mother and taken to the hospital…where I stayed for a few days. Those were the days they had first begun combining those particular vaccines and no clear answer was ever found……it was thought it was too much for my system to handle….really? Thankfully I am not a vegetable because of it but who knows what long term effects it left!

    *) I am generally supportive of what vaccines have done to eradicate horrible disease, I do think their is much too much of a rush/push at young ages and in some cases without a thorough enough long-term follow up.

    *) I had two premature babies and the doctors and nurses would use the girls “adjusted ages” to compensate for their prematurity for some milestones and when it came to vaccines want to shoot them up with full doses as though they were full term babies! I had to insist that my kids have a different time table and every time they would try to have shots ready and tell me i was “behind” and scare me with school issues! I brought it an article once and showed it to my NP and said I do not want her to have any MMR until after her adjusted age 2 or when she was 2 years, 6 weeks old or older due to my own complications…. I Know they all talked about me – oh well – freak as I might be – I did get the occasional “well, it is up to you” from the ped (who by the way, was a nice guy! LOL…ha ha One nurse even got mad cause she had the shots all there and I wouldn’t sign – said I wasted them – oh well – my babies already had preemie against them they didn’t need my consent to say – sure give them a dose of possible autisim or cerebral palsey too.

    Anyhow…it isnt easy but you are 100% correct!


Leave a Reply

