Mindful Parenting

Just another WordPress.com site

“Ohhh…that’s good too” August 6, 2010

Filed under: Breastfeeding — Lauren @ 7:54 am

I remember the first venture I made “by myself” as a new mom of two. My husband had a baseball game and I had to get out of the house, so we packed everything up and loaded the kids in the car on the way to the game. With my oldest being only 1 ½ and not really used to this whole “sit and be good your sister needs me” thing, I decided to bring some milk that I had just pumped instead of nursing her in the stands. We get there and my husband leaves to play and my daughter appears to be hungry so I take out my milk and start feeding her. Pretty uneventful. This woman, maybe in her 50’s, walks over and the first thing she says to me is “oh is that Enfamil???” I confidently reply, “oh no this is my milk”, and awkwardly she replies “ohhh, well, well that’s good too honey”, as if she had pity on my poor state of affairs to have to give my child breast-milk!!!

I was dumbfounded to say the least! How in the 21st century could the public still not be educated to the point of the simple understanding of the vast difference in health of formula-fed and breastfed babies?! When formula entered the scene it became the luxury of the rich to use and not have to resort to breastfeeding, but it has been PROVEN over and over and over since then that formula is inferior in dozens of ways to breast milk.

Breast milk is not “good too”, breast milk is best, tailor made for the human body in all its beautiful complexities.

 

One Response to ““Ohhh…that’s good too””

  1. Lisa Says:

    Despite having two preemie baby girls, born five years apart, I am proud to say that I was able to exclusively breastfeed my firstborn and she naturally weaned herself prior to her second birthday. My second child only had about 14 months due to medical procedures and surgery I could no longer delay. I am passionate about breastfeeding, mother’s and babies rights to be fed naturally and so thankful I was mature enough to be able to withstand the pressures of society and the pure ignorance of people and their comments and their lack of compassion at times. I even remember a neo-natal nurse pushing me to “give it up” and stop pushing myself because most NICU babies don’t leave here on Mother’s milk because of the circumstances – don’t blame yourself! Imagine – these are the babies who need it the most…we pushed a few ccs through her feeding tube and I felt like I could do something good for her. We prayed it nourished her to be able to breath on her own. I could go on and on about this topic 🙂 lack of good public nursing rooms, workplace pump stations, advertisers push formulas, I am thrilled to see you were informed and advocate LLL! They were wonderful for me!


Leave a Reply

